Prime Minister Ratas celebrates the 30th anniversary of the Baltic Way in Riga with his Latvian and Lithuanian counterparts

 Prime Minister Jüri Ratas is in Riga today for a meeting of Baltic prime ministers. The Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian Prime Ministers will jointly celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Baltic Chain and participate in an informal meeting of the Baltic Council of Ministers on transnational co-operation and major joint projects such as Rail Baltic and power grid synchronization.

"1989. On August 23, 2002, Estonians, Lithuanians and Latvians stood shoulder to shoulder for our freedom to live in independent, just and democratic countries. We reopened from there to free and developed countries, and began to build everything we can now enjoy and be proud of. This year we already celebrated the 15th anniversary of joining the European Union and NATO, which has given Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania a lot of determination and confidence in the future, ”said Ratas. “The Baltic Chain also marks the 80th anniversary of the Molotov-Ribbentrop settlement and was an important milestone in the liberation of Eastern Europe as a whole. It is the right time to remember the significance of the events of 1989 and all that followed. I am happy to be able to do this with my colleagues from Latvia and Lithuania. ”

Estonian Prime Minister Jüri Ratas and Lithuanian Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis will meet Prime Minister Krišjānis Kariņš and Speaker of the Seimas Ināra Mūrniece. After that, the prime ministers will place flowers at the Statue of Liberty in Riga at 11 am and visit an exhibition on the Baltic Chain. 

The Prime Ministers' working lunch and press conference will follow at 2 pm. The live broadcast of the press conference can be found here: . This is followed by a festive gathering featuring the Kremerata Baltica Chamber Orchestra of the Baltic Musicians and performances by writers Māris Bērziņš, Hasso Krull and Vladas Braziūnas.

The Baltic Council of Ministers was established in 1994 to ensure the continuity of intergovernmental cooperation between the three countries. This year the Council will be chaired by Latvia. 



© Copyright 2010-16 Invest in EU All rights reserved.